Managing simulations

Basic principles

A simulation corresponds to the whole of the dataset associated with a route optimization scenario, and saves visits that have been optimized and geolocated. The simulation is created during the course of the route optimization via the save dialogue that appears in the user interface. It can then be customised (name, description), and is automatically date-stamped with the time at which the optimization is run. It can then be deleted by the user, or automatically after a certain time, depending on its status. 

Once at least one optimization has been performed, TourSolver's Home page provides the means to manage all simulations that have been created since the creation of the user account. To see the list of simulations, refer to Home page once TourSolver has performed at least one optimization:

This page allows you to:

  • access the list of all simulations in your user account
  • display indicators for all simulations
  • compare simulations
  • rename a simulation
  • label a simulation as having been validated 
  • delete a simulation

 It will be necessary to perform this My activity step the first time you use TourSolver. The parameters defined in this tab are enduring and common to all the simulations you will create or reload subsequently. 

Utilisation

Consulting the list of simulations

To access the list of simulations:

  1. click on the Home tab, in the upper menu bar in TourSolver
  2. click on  to access the full list of simulations.

For more information about the home page, refer to the Home page help from the second time you run a simulation.

Simulations list

The simulations page lists all the simulations associated to your user account. It takes the form of a table listing simulations and their main characteristics:

  • simulation Name 
  • creation Date/Time (corresponding to the time the optimisation was run) 
  • Description that can be entered when saving the simulation during the course of the optimization 
  • Date/Time the last modification was made 
  • Status of the optimization
  • Initial cost of all the routes (at the time the optimization was run) 
  • total Optimum cost of the simulation (following optimization) 
  • cumulative Total working hours for the whole series of visits included in this simulation
  • cumulative Drive-time duration necessary for the resources group to fulfill all visits 
  • quantity of CO2 produced during the cumulative drive-times to fulfill all visits
  • cumulative Kilometres to travel to fulfill all routes
  • Number of visits performed in this simulation 
  • Total duration of this simulation  
  • Actual number of routes following optimization 

These indicators serve as a point of comparison when several simulations are performed over the same perimeter (resources, visits, duration...). 

The table listing the simulations also proposes two possible actions:

  • changing the Validation status of each simulation 
  • the option to Delete each simulation 

Renaming a simulation

You can rename a simulation at any time by clicking on its name. The name can then be edited. Change the simulation name and validate with the Enter key on the keyboard.

Validate a simulation 

You can label a siimulation at any time as having been validated. When several optimization tests are performed on the same perimeter of activity (resources, visits, duration) this is a useful way to signal - following comparison - that a simulation has indeed been selected so it can be performed on the ground. 

Validating routes in the simulation will also enable you to share them with all the TourSolver mobile app users. To do this, at least one mobile app user account must have been created. Refer to the help in the My resources page to Manage mobile app users.

When a simulation is validated, the following actions will be applied:

  • Simulation data will be stored for one year, as compared with only two months for a non-validated simulation
  • All relevant data will be sent to all TourSolver mobile app users implicated for the routes affected for the defined period
  • A notification email will be sent, if this option is selected, to alert mobile app users to the fact that the routes are available

Routes can be reissued to mobile app users where they have been modified manually or optimized. In this case, a confirmation message offers to Replace routes sent previously.

When you replace any routes already sent to TourSolver Mobile app users, any visits that are currently in the course of being fulfilled, (In progress (started) or Completed) are not modified. All other visits with a status included in the following list will be deleted so they can be updated:

  • Sent
  • Recieved
  • Accepted
  • Refused
  • Abandonned

Meanwhile, if a visit has a status of Accepted and the visit time and data remain unchanged, the visit is not deleted. However if the time or data have changed, the visit will be deleted in the fulfilment planning. 

To validate a simulation:

  1. glide the mouse cursor over the simulation to validate in the table
  2. an icon then appears in the Validated column 
  3. click on the icon to check the validation check-box so its status changes to validated
  4. when you click on the validation icon, a dialogue opens requesting whether you want to alert the mobile app users concerned via email so they know routes are now available in the  TourSolver mobile app.

 A validated simulation is stored in your user account for one year. It will then be deleted automatically. 

Deleting a simulation

A simulation can be deleted at any time from your user account. 

To delete a simulation:

  1. glide the mouse cursor over the simulation to delete in the table 
  2. an X icon appears in the last column on the right of the table 
  3. click on the X icon to delete the simulation 
  4. the simulation is then definitively deleted from your user account

 A non-validated simulation is automatically deleted from your account after one month.


Happy TourSolving!


Back to TourSolver Help