How can I reset a link to a maps app under Android?

Basic principles

In TourSolver Mobile, you can use an external app like Google Maps or Waze to locate the address of an impending visit, calculate a route that takes traffic into account in real time, or run navigational help to guide you right to the exact destination address. When you use an external app, you can choose a specific app from those installed on your smartphone or tablet using Open with…. This can be a one-off action using the ONCE ONLY button, or set as a default via the ALWAYS button. If you choose the latter, the call to this application will be executed each time the dedicated TS Mobile button is used. If you want to restore the original setting, proceed as follows.


Utilisation

There is a very simple action that you can apply to delete all predefined default associations of applications in one go.

 This procedure has been tested on Android 6.0 and 4.1.2. However it has yet to be validated on other versions of the system.

Procedure for Android 6.0

Reset only the maps/route/navigation app

This procedure applies specifically to an association set up already with a maps/route/navigation app:

  • Access Settings in your Android smartphone or tablet
  • Choose Apps
  • In the list of apps choose the app used by default to access maps/routes/navigation (Maps for GoogleMaps, or Waze).
  • Choose the Launch by default function
  • The Open compatible links option can then be personalised to Always ask or Open in this application. If you never want to use an installed app to access maps/routes/navigations (for example if you always require a walking app) select Do not open in this application.
  • Clear defaults resets all actions defined by default on this app.

Reset preferences (global preferences for the whole system)

  • Access Settings on the Android smartphone or tablet
  • Select Apps
  • In the menu at the top right of the screen, choose Reset preferences
  • A confirmation message alerts you of the consequences: press on Reset app.

This operation has the effect of resetting all preferences relating to the following:

  • Background data restrictions for apps
  • Disabled apps
  • Disabled apps notifications
  • Default apps for actions
  • Permission restrictions on apps

Data linked to apps will be conserved.

Procedure for Android 4.1.2

This procedure cannot be applied specifically to an association with a maps/route/navigation app  but will apply globally to all defined associations:

  • Access Settings on your Android smartphone or tablet
  • Go into the applications manager
  • Press on the options button (bottom left of screen) to display a menu
  • Press on Reset preferences
  • Having read the warning message, press on the Reset applications button

The following settings are reset to zero:

  • Default associations are deleted: these are applications used by default (and it is this action that we are aiming to accomplish here)
  • Applications that had been disabled are restored
  • Disabled notifications are re-enabled
  • ...

Changes are taken into account immediately.

The only thing left now to do is to rearrange the priorities so applications are associated with new actions that better suit you, the user! Or, you might decide not to apply any definitive associations for displaying maps, route calculation, and navigation from TourSolver Mobile.

 

Happy TourSolving!



Back to TourSolver Help